The Daffodil Fairy

Beneath the shade of the Daffodils…

Bitty Penny and Furry are about to hear a reading of The Daffodil Fairy by Cicely Mary Barker.  It is one of Hitty Jean’s favorite poems – reading it beneath a canopy of yellow blooms seems just right.

Meanwhile, Bécassine is trying to figure out how to bring a bouquet of the blooms into the Hitty Townhouse.  Alas, they are simply too big:

Later, Furry presents Bécassine with a beautiful bouquet of Daffodils – just her size!  When Bécassine asks Furry where on Earth he found such tiny Daffodils, he simply replies, “The Daffodil Fairy, of course…”

The Song of the Daffodil Fairy
by Cicley Mary Barker

I’m everyone’s darling; the blackbird and starling
Are shouting about me from blossom and boughs.
For I, the Lent-lily, the Daffy-down-dilly,
Have heard through the country the call to arouse.
The orchards are ringing with voices a-singing
The praise of my petticoat, praise of my gown;
The children are playing, and hark! they are saying
That Daffy-down-dilly has come up to town!

*miniature book by Pat Carlson*

7 thoughts on “The Daffodil Fairy

  1. Great to see Hitty Jean on ‘WordPress – I think it’s much friendlier here, though I will miss your other blog. Do you still have a site with your kids and family? I have loved watching them grow up and seeing the family activities. Happy

  2. I’m so thrilled to see you playing again and WordPress is so much more user friendly! I’m looking forward to your future entries because I love what you do and always love all your pictures! Thanks for making us smile….hugs!

  3. I’ll miss your amazing blog, but I am thrilled to see that you are still doing your Hitty pictures. Absolutely adorable!

Leave a Reply

